Air Conditioning Dampers

Discussion in 'Pascal Logic Code Examples' started by Garfield, Nov 11, 2009.

  1. Garfield

    Garfield

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I had an air conditioning system installed recently and have it working with C-Bus. I thought other people might benefit from my work, so I am going to share it in a few posts when I get time.

    The dampers provided did not have limit switches on them, so I had to do a bit of extra work to make them work with C-Bus. I had planned to just use change-over relays to switch the dampers, but the motors run continually when power is applied, so I had to add a series relay to allow power to be switched on only for long enough for the damper to switch (they need about 20 seconds):

    AC1.jpg

    Then I added some logic to a Colour C-Touch to pulse the "common" relay on for 30 seconds whenever a zone damper group address changed:

    Code:
    once GetLightingState("AC Bedroom 1") then
      PulseCBusLevel("Wired", "Lighting", "AC Damper Common", 100%, "0s", ACDamperDuration, 0%);
    
    once not GetLightingState("AC Bedroom 1") then
      PulseCBusLevel("Wired", "Lighting", "AC Damper Common", 100%, "0s", ACDamperDuration, 0%);
    
    once GetLightingState("AC Bedroom 2") then
      PulseCBusLevel("Wired", "Lighting", "AC Damper Common", 100%, "0s", ACDamperDuration, 0%);
    
    once not GetLightingState("AC Bedroom 2") then
      PulseCBusLevel("Wired", "Lighting", "AC Damper Common", 100%, "0s", ACDamperDuration, 0%);
    
    etc
    Then I created a Scene containing all of the zone damper group addresses so that I could see when all zones were off so that the AC power could be switched off if all zones get closed:

    Code:
    once SceneIsSet("AC Zones Off") then
      SetLightingState("AC Power", OFF);
     
    Garfield, Nov 11, 2009
    #1
  2. Garfield

    Conformist

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Hey Garfield

    First of all, thanks for the post. A couple of questions if I may...

    Did you use the new ELV (L5108RELVP)relay to do the switching?
    If so, you have a 'fail-safe' so that all dampers open (assuming you don't have a permanent open zone)?
    What Air-conditioner did you install (brand and model)?

    I'm in the process of wiring mine at the moment. I made sure my dampers are power to open, power to close with limit switches that cut power at the end of the 'swing'. I am making sure that the zones are wired to have the relays de-energised to open the zone. If there is a loss of C-Bus power, the relays (of the L5108RELVP) all switch off.

    Cheers
     
    Conformist, Nov 11, 2009
    #2
  3. Garfield

    Garfield

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    No. I used 5504RVFC units because I had a couple of them spare.

    No. It wasn't obvious how this could be done with this type of damper. With a "normal" damper, I assume you would have the normally open relay contacts drive the dampers open so that if C-Bus fails, the dampers all open. In my case, if C-Bus fails, then the dampers just stay where they are.

    Daikin FDYQ125KAV1/RZQ125KV4A

    I am very happy with it so far. The output unit in particular is very quiet.

    I would have preferred that, but I kind of had to live with what was delivered. They installed it a couple of days ago, and the weather forecast is over 37C for every day this week, so I didn't want to delay the installation.
     
    Garfield, Nov 12, 2009
    #3
  4. Garfield

    Conformist

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Thanks Garfield...

    Assume you are in Adelaide enjoying the warm weather :)
     
    Conformist, Nov 12, 2009
    #4
  5. Garfield

    Garfield

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yes. I just updated my profile to show my location.
     
    Garfield, Nov 12, 2009
    #5
  6. Garfield

    nickrusanov

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    russia
    How do you connect Daikins like this? I always have an answer from Daikin guys that I cannot control their conditioners through relays, only LON....
     
    nickrusanov, Nov 30, 2009
    #6
  7. Garfield

    Garfield

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    These were actually Siemens dampers. They connected to a control box which talked through a serial link to a touch pad. There is no direct link to the Daikin air conditioner.

    I just discarded the control box and touch pad and controlled the open/close inputs to the dampers directly. I assume that most dampers will have a similar input.
     
    Garfield, Dec 1, 2009
    #7
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.