Add wireless to 6 year old C-Bus system

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wireless Hardware' started by jjdnyc, Aug 16, 2010.

1. jjdnyc

jjdnyc

Guys

I have just joined the forums. I am a complete newbie to c-bus but I am reasonably technical. And, yes, (since I know this is coming) I am sufficently technical to use the search tool - but to no avail in this instance. So...

I have just moved into a new (to me) house in Sydney. It is about 6 years old and has what I think is a fairly extensive Cbus system. It has more than 100 switches (DLT's?) as well as one b&w touch screen. But, it only controls blinds and lights - no HVAC, sounds or camera control.

I want to do three things:

1) I want to remap some of the light switch assignments - I don't think they all make sense. Can I do this myself if I buy the right interface or can I get someone to do it for me for a reasonable cost?

2) There is only one "scene" programmed to the touchscreen - "goodnight" - its shuts down the whole house. I want some more scenes like "evening", "75%", "upstairs off" etc. Again, can I do this and if not how much to have someone do it?

and, most importantly:

3) I want to know whether I can add wireless control (I think via a CNI and a Wiser?) to an existing, 6 year old system. (I do not yet know what system hardware I have but I will find out).

Phase 2 will be for me to extend the system to control HVAC etc, Hurlcon heating/ filtration for the pool, but for now I need to stop the bleeding since I just bought the house.

Any tips or links to useful threads would be very much appreciated.

r

JD

jjdnyc, Aug 16, 2010
  2. jjdnyc

NickD Moderator

Hi, and Welcome.

Yes, there is no reason you can't do this yourself. 100 switches is quite a lot, so it probably means you have multiple networks.