Absolute C-Bus newbie looking for info

Discussion in 'C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software' started by nzmike, Oct 30, 2010.

1. nzmike

nzmike

Hi all,

As stated in the title I am completely new to C-Bus but am a .Net developer and want to program against the C-Bus network in the new place I am moving to (in January 2011) in order to create an application or website to allow a touchscreen computer to (hopefully) control all the main functions (though perhaps just lighting, air-con & heating first) for my wife who is partially disabled.

Basically, she will have trouble with tapping the smallish keys on the Clipsal units and remotes so my idea is to have an app or website with nice large buttons and sliders running on a touchscreen PC to allow her to control everything when everyone else is at work or out etc. I can place this very centrally (and also have it on her touchscreen laptop) and also replicate it to other PC's in our new home so she can have access in more than place.

I can take care of the programming and so far I've downloaded the C-Bus toolkit and looked at the VB.Net sample project which makes sense. I've also downloaded the C-Bus toolkit and this looks like a very powerful way to work out the topology of the network (I'm assuming there will only be one network in our new house) so I can work out how to control each unit.

I'm also working my way through the Toolkit help file as I'm aware I need to know a lot more but I just have some really basic questions first:

1. What controller do I need to attach at least one "master" (i.e: server) PC to the C-Bus network? I can see there is a 5500CN and a 550PCU but I'm not really sure which one I'd need and why. (I'll be using Windows 7 64 bit most likely if it helps).

2. Once I have the correct controller, do I attach it via unshieled cat5 to any of the ethernet ports in the house or does it have to be plugged into the main control panel?