65 homesafe's in one network

Discussion in 'Homesafe & Security Access & Control' started by nickrusanov, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. nickrusanov

    nickrusanov

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    russia
    I have a question from integrator. He is asked to build integrated security system in new cottage village. He asks if it is possible to integrate 65 homsafe controllers through C-Bus.

    As I see - it's possible in theory. But as we did not use homesafe yet - not sure. What do you think?
     
    nickrusanov, Mar 13, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. nickrusanov

    cramer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    65 Homesafe sims

    What were you hoping to do with C-Bus on the homesafe units?

    Also I'm not too sure what the the Homesafe C-Bus sims draw from the network.

    A standard PCI draws about 36mA, if the sims are the same, you cant have more than about 50 units maximum, it would even be better not to go beyond 40.
     
    cramer, Mar 14, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. nickrusanov

    nickrusanov

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    russia
    so it will be 2-3 (maybe better 4-5 networks, maybe connected through CNIs)?

    What we need is to monitor alarm state, monitor home-away mode. Maybe more functions.
     
    nickrusanov, Mar 15, 2007
    #3
  4. nickrusanov

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Using the Homesafe with its build-in cbus support you can only have ONE alarm panel per cbus network - if you want to do whats listed - monitor and control the alarm panel.
     
    ashleigh, Mar 15, 2007
    #4
  5. nickrusanov

    2SC

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Use bus couplers?

    Why don't you use one 5104BCL (Bus coupler input unit, 4 channel) per alarm panel? It is easier and probably cheaper.
     
    2SC, Mar 15, 2007
    #5
  6. nickrusanov

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    This really is Challenger territory.

    http://www.tecom.com.au/

    What you are considering to do is very good but I think that the data-polling for C-Bus is not built for the same control functions as Tecom Challenger Panels are. At least you know that with an industrial sized panel solution there are many examples of the same configuration as what you are proposing. There is also the idea that you could use WebCam, IPcam, Axis Cameras over Ethernet giving real time vision and recording.

    I wouldn't go for a single mode alarm (blind triggers) as there is also a chance you could get a false alarm / distraction to divert attention from something else. Being able to determine visually if there is a threat could offer many advantages over plain alarm systems and fit in neatly over the existing infrastructure.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2007
    tobex, Mar 16, 2007
    #6
  7. nickrusanov

    Charlie Crackle

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Melbourne

    WHy the ONE limitation...
     
    Charlie Crackle, Mar 16, 2007
    #7
  8. nickrusanov

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    How would you address the polling ?
     
    tobex, Mar 16, 2007
    #8
  9. nickrusanov

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The C-Bus SIM draws 18mA, so it is possible to have up to 100 C-Bus SIMs on a single C-Bus network (without any other devices).
     
    Newman, Mar 19, 2007
    #9
  10. nickrusanov

    ashleigh Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    The single network is because of the way the security panel communicates its information (about zone state and so on). The communication data format is defined for a single security system with lots of zones, NOT for lots of security systems each with only a few zones.
     
    ashleigh, Mar 19, 2007
    #10
  11. nickrusanov

    tobex

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Besides all of the other great advice noted .... what about voltage drop and packet integrity ?
     
    tobex, Mar 20, 2007
    #11
  12. nickrusanov

    Newman

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Are you asking if "C-Bus devices are designed to operate over the voltage range 15V - 36V" is really true?

    There's also an excellent application note available on calculating voltage drops: http://www2.clipsal.com/cis/cis/__data/page/4129/CBus-Voltage-Calculation.pdf
     
    Newman, Mar 21, 2007
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.