5508D1A and Fluorescent lamps

Discussion in 'C-Bus Wired Hardware' started by kayes006, Oct 15, 2007.

1. kayes006

kayes006

Firstly, thanks to those you have answered my previous posts - great help esp. as I am new to cbus.

In the manual for the 5508D1A it says it can be used with Fluorescent lighting. It says "fluorescent lamps may be switched but not dimmed. For each channel connected to a fluorescent load, set the minimum Turn On level to 100% using the C-Bus Toolkit software. A Power Factor Correction (PFC) capacitor must be fitted".

I have two fluorescent strip lamps in my garage and intended to connect them to one channel on the dimmer. However, my electrician looked vague when I asked him about the PFC.

How do you determine what PFC is required?

Clipsal obviously allow connection of fluorescents to this unit, but searching the forum suggests people have had issues. Should I consider using a relay instead?

kayes006, Oct 15, 2007
  2. kayes006

Conformist

I believe it refers to a power factor capacitor being present...fluros over 15 Watts must have power factor correction capacitors fitted before they can be sold into the Aus. market (we don't know where you are, might be a good time to update your info so better help can be oferred in the future :) ) It is saying check that one is fitted.

I would switch your fluro(s) with relays if possible.

Cheers

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 15, 2007
    Conformist, Oct 15, 2007
  3. kayes006

Ingo

I tested a small 7W CF with a dimmer. The problem I had was that the dimmer has a small leakage current which makes the thing flicker even when off. I did a search on the forum and everyone else had the same problem. I am in the process of switching to relays.

Ingo

Ingo, Oct 15, 2007
  4. kayes006

amberelectrics

I have a paroblem with a new dimmable CFL. Its made by varilight and works perfectly on a standard dimmer.