C-Bus Forums  

Go Back   C-Bus Forums > C-Bus Products > C-Bus Wiser

The C-Bus Community Forums is place where C-Bus users can share information and help others with C-Bus. From time to time you will see Clipsal staff on the forums, but this is not an official support channel. If you really need help contact the official support services of Clipsal. More information about the purpose of this forum is available here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11 Mar 11, 12:05 PM
DTandi DTandi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1
Default Cheaper IP Cameras that are Wiser compatible?

Hi guys,

Has anyone tested some of the cheaper IP cameras like FOSCAM or other models from eBay or Amazon?

Just looking for some cheaper ones to play around with as the AXIS are quite expensive if you want a few of them.

Thnx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12 Mar 11, 07:09 PM
kjayakumar kjayakumar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTandi View Post
Hi guys,

Has anyone tested some of the cheaper IP cameras like FOSCAM or other models from eBay or Amazon?

Just looking for some cheaper ones to play around with as the AXIS are quite expensive if you want a few of them.

Thnx
I'm not familiar with foscam, but basically, if the camera offers a URL that provides a JPEG snapshot and doesn't need authentication, then it should work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15 Mar 11, 09:46 AM
NickD's Avatar
NickD NickD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 959
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjayakumar View Post
I'm not familiar with foscam, but basically, if the camera offers a URL that provides a JPEG snapshot and doesn't need authentication, then it should work fine.
Unfortunately this functionality is almost never documented, so it's a "try it and see" situation. This is why it's great if people can post makes and model numbers of cameras that have been tried.

I can confirm that the D-Link DCS-2121 does NOT work with Wiser as it insists on authentication

Nick

Last edited by NickD; 15 Mar 11 at 09:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15 Mar 11, 01:51 PM
oracle oracle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NSW
Posts: 39
Default

yes the cheaper cameras like FOSCAM will work with wiser.
you need to not worry too much about the activeX control login page. use this to setup the camera. or look at camera through a browser.

you then need to use cgi HTTP protocols to control it.

there are foscam clones really cheap (i have successfully flashed with original foscam firmware and web UI)

if you update the firmware to a foscam 11.14.2.18 latest
and web ui 2.4.8.15
it gives you PT control speeds etc.
and presets (up to 16)

as for the URL requirement for camera control to wiser the address will need to be like this

http://(ip address of camera)/snapshot.cgi?user=(your username)&pwd=(your password)&next_url=1


OK remove all the brackets and put your details were the bold stuff is.
all IP cameras I have played with use CGI so getting the URL is the only tricky thing

if you need to control more from these cameras I have more more of the CGI commands listed somewhere


and nick D i would like to test your dlink camera i find it hard to believe that you cannot authenticate socket through the URL

try something like this
http://<camera ip>/image/jpeg.cgi

or
http://<user>:<passwd>@<ipaddress>/image/jpeg.cgi&profileid=1

attached is the dcs 2121 support file

and the foscam one - it is old and missing some cgi

* The PTZ presets only work on IE
to setup using fiefox install IE tab as addon and switch rendering engine
Attached Images
File Type: pdf DCS2121 support table.pdf (48.1 KB, 1068 views)
File Type: pdf ipcam_cgi_sdk.pdf (69.7 KB, 162 views)

Last edited by oracle; 17 Mar 11 at 10:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 Apr 13, 08:18 PM
mcsortan mcsortan is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: adelaide
Posts: 20
Default

I can't get the D-Link DCS-2310L working with Wiser due to authentication requirements.

I have tried your suggestions above, but to no avail.

Any suggestions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing Wiser ray.sherriff@cabra.com.au C-Bus Wiser 61 20 Dec 12 09:44 PM
Wiser Compatible IP Cameras? niciinnz C-Bus Wiser 4 04 Nov 11 02:10 PM
Problem in viewing IP cameras through wiser samala General Discussion 2 11 Feb 11 05:34 PM
Wiser Remote Connection and Cameras... constantcharge C-Bus Wiser 4 22 Sep 10 07:41 PM
IP Cameras / IP Video Servers Memphix C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED 26 07 Mar 10 06:04 PM


All times are GMT +10.5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.