C-Bus Forums  

Go Back   C-Bus Forums > C-Bus Integration > C-Bus Serial Protocols

The C-Bus Community Forums is place where C-Bus users can share information and help others with C-Bus. From time to time you will see Clipsal staff on the forums, but this is not an official support channel. If you really need help contact the official support services of Clipsal. More information about the purpose of this forum is available here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 31 Jul 17, 08:13 PM
jasonson jasonson is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickD View Post
I would expect so too (even though it wasn't one of my designs), and I'm disappointed to hear that people have had units that don't work out of the box. Unfortunately this is the first I've heard of it.

As design engineers we hope that when stuff like this happens, that it gets reported, because if we don't know about it we can't do anything about it.

Nick
I might book a time with Keenan at Schneider Brisbane and get him to verify that my port is buggered and if that's the case, I'll get it swapped under warranty and try again with the new one.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01 Aug 17, 11:47 AM
jboer's Avatar
jboer jboer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickD View Post
I would expect so too (even though it wasn't one of my designs), and I'm disappointed to hear that people have had units that don't work out of the box. Unfortunately this is the first I've heard of it.

As design engineers we hope that when stuff like this happens, that it gets reported, because if we don't know about it we can't do anything about it.

Nick
It is one of those things I guess, as a design person myself I feel your pain, at the end of the day, if it doesn't get captured under the warranty process then it is likely to get lost. Unfortunately this does depend on a lot of people in the middle, like the wholesaler and the Schneider/Clipsal Warehouse ect.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02 Aug 17, 01:25 PM
ashleigh ashleigh is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 2,383
Default

Agree with your disappointment.

A few years back I had a design with a similar issue: a lot of RS-232 ports were knackered immediately after manufacture. The factory test people were most unhappy and blamed it all on a design fault. Something like 30% of everything built had to be reworked.

Turned out that the next batch built were all ok. That initial high failure rate was a reel of dodgy RS-232 converter IC's. Of course dealing with the maker of the components gets hard when they are bad and have all been built into products and shipped.

My reason for telling this is that you feel aggrieved, and rightly so. The manufacturer / factory may not know anything about it, and furthermore the control of that may also be completely out of their hands. It's disappointing but happens.
__________________
Ashleigh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toolkit 1.12 comms error towbar C-Bus Toolkit and C-Gate Software 10 14 Jun 12 12:51 PM
Can't open serial port with PICED gotliebk C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software 4 24 Jun 09 04:21 PM
PICED serial port default line states BradJ C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software 12 24 Mar 06 09:53 AM
Serial port on ctouch pharvey@leighmaree.com C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software 2 10 Nov 05 03:29 PM
Debugging Serial Port Code PAC Charlie Crackle C-Touch/HomeGate/SchedulePlus/PICED Software 5 04 Nov 05 09:34 AM


All times are GMT +10.5. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.