C-Bus Forums  

Go Back   C-Bus Forums > C-Bus Products > Multi-Room Audio (MRA) and MARPA

The C-Bus Community Forums is place where C-Bus users can share information and help others with C-Bus. From time to time you will see Clipsal staff on the forums, but this is not an official support channel. If you really need help contact the official support services of Clipsal. More information about the purpose of this forum is available here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22 Jan 17, 03:53 AM
Bodhi Bodhi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 6
Default new Multi room installation

Hi All
I'm starting my first installation next week, the customer has requested
for 6 rooms to have speakers. basically all she wants to do is choose which room to play her music, she only wants to play music from her IPhone via a wiser unit.
any suggestions on what to use?
would you need to use one amp per room ?
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27 Jan 17, 09:19 PM
71monaro 71monaro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 59
Default

if each room needs to be turned on/off individually she will need separate amps for each room. Suggest as Airport E
xpress as source. so can airplay to the device.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Jan 17, 05:10 AM
Bodhi Bodhi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Thanks for the reply, the number of rooms have now reduced to 4 rooms , I have ordered a matrix switcher and 4 MRAs . I think playing music through the wiser from her iPhone is going to pose a completely different problem, airplay probable

Last edited by Bodhi; 31 Jan 17 at 05:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Jan 17, 04:28 PM
NickD's Avatar
NickD NickD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,104
Default

I use an AppleTV (gen 2, which still has the optical digital out) as a source for my MRA to play music from iTunes or Airplay from my phone.

It works fine, it's just a little clunky having to set the source/volume etc from C-Bus and then switch to the Remote app to select the track etc.

In theory it should be possible to write some software to bridge the C-Bus Media Transport control application to the Apple transport control to allow control and display of the track from C-Bus.... one problem is that the Apple side is not published although there seem to have been various attempts at reverse engineering it.

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Feb 17, 04:33 AM
Bodhi Bodhi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks Nick
We are going to use an airport express at the matrix then have an appletv behind each TV with MRA speaker cables going to TV also then on to the speakers themselves, switching between sound for TV and music when TV turned off .... it's all a big learning curve at the moment 😳
Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Feb 17, 09:02 PM
tobex tobex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bodhi View Post
Hi All
I'm starting my first installation next week, the customer has requested
for 6 rooms to have speakers. basically all she wants to do is choose which room to play her music, she only wants to play music from her IPhone via a wiser unit.
any suggestions on what to use?
would you need to use one amp per room ?
Thanks in advance
Are you sure this isn't a Sonos project ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06 Feb 17, 03:27 AM
Bodhi Bodhi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 6
Default

Hi, it definitely is a Cbus installation, although I should imagine that the client is aware of Sonos, initially the installation was and is Cbus involving lighting, windows, blinds etc ... the audio came rather late to the party ... hopefully it will all work out 😳
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06 Feb 17, 04:18 PM
tobex tobex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bodhi View Post
Hi, it definitely is a Cbus installation, although I should imagine that the client is aware of Sonos, initially the installation was and is Cbus involving lighting, windows, blinds etc ... the audio came rather late to the party ... hopefully it will all work out 😳
Not everything has to be chocolate, in a chocolate factory.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12 Feb 17, 10:33 AM
ben addison ben addison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 43
Default

Hi,

If your using the matrix, you could also use the usb socket on the front of the wiser to stream music.
there is also the 2 FM turner built in to the matrix.

Thanks

ben
__________________
Ben Addison (Electrical Contractors)
Tel: 01226764749
Mob: 07889845712
www.clipsalcbus.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Room Audio Zones SmartHome Multi-Room Audio (MRA) and MARPA 1 19 Nov 14 12:11 AM
Multi Room Audo GA Tempate Adresses Mr CBUS Multi-Room Audio (MRA) and MARPA 1 25 Feb 14 01:42 PM
Multi Room Audio Broad Cast Inputs Charlie Crackle Multi-Room Audio (MRA) and MARPA 4 29 Dec 05 11:16 PM
Multi Room Audio phil General Discussion 1 03 Dec 05 09:59 PM
C-Bus Multi Room Audio rhamer C-Bus Wired and other Hardware 15 20 Oct 04 08:40 PM


All times are GMT +10.5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.